advertisement

Article:
  Automated Backups on Tiger Using rsync
Subject:   Beware - this script deletes before it copies
Date:   2005-08-25 09:09:38
From:   thomaslunde
As written, the proposed rsync command line deletes files which are not on the backup volume before it writes over new files. If you are like me, you rename new versions of files -- and therein lies the danger. If there is a problem with the backup drive in mid-backup, you can lose your old safe version and have the new changed version not written out.


To fix this, just use the


--delete-after


option to rsync.